Sneaker-Search!

Hi there,

If someone would ask me what my style is, I would answer that it really depends on my moods but generally speaking I’m a classic girl with a twist 😉

Being a small girl, I have been wearing heels almost daily for more than 10 years now. But of course there are circumstances where you need  more comfortable shoes to walk or to work in. For me it has always been hard to search the perfect shoes for those events.

As I have grow older (not larger sadly ;-), I find myself more and more in those kind of circumstances though  :-). And, yeah, even I like it more and more to put my heels in the closet for a while.. only I need a proper alternative that fits my style and is also fairly made.

The sneaker trend wasn’t really my favorite one so I ignored him for quite a long time (woman and their blind spots.. 😉 )

But lately.. I gave my blind spot a chance, I began to see outfits that I would totally wear!

Like these combinations for instance :

Dia1
Found on Pinterest : Look 1 and Look 2

What I like about these two stylish woman is that they are looking so classy but with a look that is still doable to jump in-and out the car and pick up some groceries, if you catch my drift 🙂

It’s also a look that you can wear to go out for work and meet up  with the girls for drinks later on, with a tote bag and a clutch inside.. you can go both ways in a minute! I don’t know about you but I find it very comforting for myself that one look can carry more than one option 🙂

So, back to the sneaker! I began my search like a modern girl: on the internet! My goals: a sneaker that is well formed with a bit of a higher platform cause I really don’t like it if it feels like I’m going underground literally ;-). Here is what I liked (within my price range) :

Dia2
From left to right, high to low : Adidas, Reebok, Stella McCarthy for Adidas, Puma, Puma, Stella McCarthy for Adidas and Adidas : Selena Gomez Edition

 

Dia3
2nd Step : Is what I like, also ethically made? I put on an ethical filter on the above selection and searched a couple alternatives too. From left to right, high to low : Toms, Veja, Toms, Puma, Puma

When I started my internet search, the big sports labels came up really quickly so I was seduced by their great adds and counted on their expertise to deliver me a qualitative sneaker and I have to admit that their models are really stylish to!

So first I picked my goodies and secondly, I used the rankabrand-app to test their ethical score. Rankabrand gives scores from A till E, all the information you find over here.

I learned that from my first selection Puma gets a ‘C’ and adidas gets an ‘E’, Reebok also gets an ‘E’.

C means that the company clearly made some steps but still needs a push to do better or to give more information about the whole process.

E means that they really need to do it better.

Then I searched for brands that profile themselves as being ethical, like Toms and Veja, but I also kept my favorites from Puma. I even sneaked a wedge sneaker in it 😉

I also used the rankabrand-app to test those labels and guess what? Veja scored also a ‘C’ and Toms only an ‘E’ cause they are not transparent at all about their production and choice of fabrics.

So I’m a bit confused and not wholly convinced over here..

What do you think? Which sneaker for the win?

XoXo Mary

Geef een reactie

