How do I know that my favourite label cares?

Alain went crazy with post-its

One of the perks of a workaholic boyfriend is that his work gets him to cool places and so.. I get to go to cool places 😉

One of those places is absolutely and positively for sure : Amsterdam.

Only one hour and a half drive from Antwerp, you find one of the coolest cities in the world.

We lived there for 2 months this summer so I did some visiting and some wondering…

During my visit to the Rijksmuseum, I had special attention for the guest curator: Alain de Botton. His name turned up during my Moral Philosophy studies as a philosopher that writes about social-economic symptoms like status anxiety, the art of travel and love. So I was pretty curious!                            I came unprepared though because I didn’t read his book ‘Art is Therapy’ first (Sorry Alain).

He placed post-its inside the museum to guide you trough the pieces. And yeah, He guided me already! Though I’m not a fan of all his interpretations, I do like to give u THIS one to wonder with me.

Art is Consumerism

Being Mary Shoppins and all, I too feel the urge to have nice things. Actually.. I like to have ALL the things that I find interesting at this very moment and I want them without becoming broke and having to live in a box on the street (where would I put all my nice things? The box would be too tiny obviously *roll eyes*).

Back to Mister Post-it:

“A good response to consumerism might be to recognise what is required to provide these products justly.” Alain de Botton

In my pleed against fast consumerism and for slow fashion, I’d like to share with you a couple tools to check how justly your favorite label is and how much they recognize it:

 Sites en Apps :

* The Rank A Brand-app voor Apple en Android                                                         Rank a brand consists out of a team with independent consumers who investigate how sustainable their favorite labels are. You find an overview of important consumer brands and their sustainability scores based on themes such as : environment, climate, labor issues, and transparency.

* The Talking Dress-app voor Apple en Android takes you shopping with a ‘green’ fashionmind, this app presents a shopping and inspiration guide for an honest living and a fair lifestyle.

*The Dutch campaign ‘De Schone Kleren campagne‘ designed the Fair-Fashion-App  for Apple  and Android                                                                                                              This campaign focus is on the wages in the fashion industry. They conducted a survey in 2013 with the aim of providing greater transparency for consumers on this issue. More than 140 fashion brands were analyzed and are now brought to you as an app, which was realized by the Swiss Clean Clothes Campaign, the Berne Declaration.

Milieu centraal designed ‘The Keurenmerkwijzer‘ for Apple and Android                                                                 This app gives you information about how rating works, what the parameters are and does that for more than only for clothes. 

Find me on Bloglovin

2 gedachtes over “How do I know that my favourite label cares?

Geef een reactie

